Man spricht Englisch?

Sta.Rosa

Nach meinem letzten Artikel, habe ich eigentlich vorgenommen, mich zurückzulehnen, erstmal eine Sommerpause  zu gönnen.  Aber die Resonanz für meinem Blog ist überwältigend, dass die Leute mich dazu ermutigt, weiterzumachen.  Meine Ideen, kommen immer dann nachdem ich den letzten Artikel veröffentlicht habe.  Also kam diese Idee jetzt wie gerufen.

Hier bei uns ist diesen Satz aus einem Film bekannt:  „Man spricht Deutsch!“.  In meinem Beruf bekomme ich öfter diese Frage zu hören: „Spricht man da auch Deutsch?“.  Die Kunden meinten im Urlaubsland.  Viele möchten ja auch ihren Urlaub dort verbringen, wo sie keinen Englisch brauchen, also wie Daheim.  

Hier in  Deutschland  ist die Englische Sprache nicht sehr verbreitet.  Höchstens in Großstädten, wo die meisten Touristen und Ausländern sind.  Die Englische Filme werden ja auch erstmal auf Deutsch synchronisiert bevor die in die Kinos kommen.  In anderen benachbarten Ländern wie z.B.  Holland nicht. 

Wenn man sich über Charice beschäftigt, kommt man um die Englische Sprache nicht herum.  Die Nachrichten über sie sind meistens auf Englisch.  Das ist nicht weiter tragisch.  Denn ich war der Meinung, ich könnte gut Englisch.  Aber Vieles hat man  doch schon vergessen.  Klar, wenn man nur Deutsch zu Hause und überall hier spricht, die Übung fehlt.

Ich erinnere mich, damals wenn ich jedesmal einen Kommentar in Charicemania.com geschrieben habe, habe ich erstmal mindestens dreimal durchgelesen ob vielleicht doch noch einen Fehler eingeschlichen hatte.  Denn ich war schon nervös gewesen.  Stellen Sie sich das mal vor, die meisten  Leser und Schreiber sind aus den USA, Kanada und Philippinen.  Auf den Philippinen ist Englisch eine wichtige Sprache. 

Aber gibt es das wirklich?  Perfektes Englisch?  Ich kann nur über meine Reisen berichten:  in Hongkong hat Englisch wie Chinesisch geklungen, in Singapore haben sie nach jedem Satz ein „lah“ hinten drangehängt, in London könnte ich kaum den Taxifahrer verstehen, in Irland, oh my goodness, in Kanada, super, in den USA kommt darauf an wo man sich gerade befindet.   Die meisten Leute die meinen sie sprechen sehr gut Englisch, müssen sich selber fragen:  ist ein Amerikanisches Akzent ein Garant für ein gutes Englisch?  Oder gar perfekte Grammatik?  Denn das glaube ich nicht.

Ich habe schon so oft gelesen, wie Leute sich über Charice´s Englisch  diskutieren.  Jedes kleinste Detail.  Unglaublich!  Ihre Betonung, ihre Grammatik, ihre Aussprache, ihr Akzent!  Eigentlich alles.  Dann kommt die obligatorische Vorschläge, lerne dies, lerne das, übt dies, übt das usw. und so fort.

Warum eigentlich?  Ist es wirklich so schlimm wenn man ein Akzent hat?  Wenn die Franzosen mit ihren Akzent reden, zum dahinschmelzen oder etwa nicht?  Ich finde man lernt nie aus im Leben.  Meine jetzigen online Freunde und ich haben ein Spiel erfunden, uns gegenseitig zu korrigieren wenn wir merken, wir machen einen Fehler.  Das Beste daran, wir haben einen rießen Spaß und lernen auch noch dabei.  Yes!  So wie früher man hat in einem Wörterbuch nachgeschaut, heute per Google. 

Charice hat sehr vieles sehr schnell  gelernt wie ich sie in einem Jahr beobachtet habe.  Ihre Fans und Kritikern müssen sich in Geduld üben.   Sie lebt gerade eine große Entwicklung durch.  Ihr Englisch (sogar ihr Akzent) hat sich sehr verbessert und verändert.  Manchmal denke ich sogar, ist das noch etwa das kleine Mädchen von den Philippinen?  Vor einem Jahr hat sie noch anders geklungen.  Ja sie ist es immer noch.  Und sie wird besser und besser von Tag zu Tag.

 English Translation: One speaks English?

After my last article, I wanted to lay back and indulge in my  summer break. But the response on my blog is so overwhelming,  that people  were requesting for me to go on. My ideas are always coming to me after I published the last article .  So this idea is now established.

Most of us know this phrase from a famous movie:  „One speaks German!“. In my job I often hear this question: „Do they speak German there as well?“. The clients are referring to their holiday destinations. Many of them want to spend their holidays there, where they do not need English, so like home.

The English language is not widely spoken here in Germany. Maybe in big cities, where most tourists and foreigners are. The English movies are being synchronized in  German first before showing them in cinemas. Which is not the case in other neighboring countries like Holland.

If one searches for Charice´s news,  you can´t avoid the English language. The news about her are mostly in English. This is not very tragic. Because I thought,  I am good in English. But I´ve forgotten so many words and the right grammar .  We only speak German at home and everywhere,  I´m lacking in practice.

I remember before when I had to comment in Charicemania.com, I first read through at least three times to check whether I made a  mistake or not. Because I was so nervous. Imagine this, so many readers and writers from the USA, Canada and the Philippines were there. In the Philippines, English is an important language.

But is there really such a thing as perfect English? I can only report about my past travels. In Hongkong: the English sounded like  Chinese; in Singapore: they are hanging a „lah“  after each sentence; in London: I could hardly understand the taxi drivers; in Ireland: oh my goodness; in Canada: Great; in the U.S.: depends on where you’re located. Most people who think they speak very good English, must ask themselves: is an American accent, a guarantee for a good English? Or even perfect grammar? Because I don´t think so.

I’ve read often about people debating about  Charice’s English. Every little  detail. Unbelievable! Her intonation, her grammar, her pronunciation, her accent! Actually, everything. Then comes the obligatory suggestions, learn this, learn that, practice this, practice that, etc.  etc. and so on and so forth.

Why? Is it really so bad if you have an accent? When a French speaks with a French  accent, don´t we melt away or not? I think one  never learns enough in life. My current online friends and I have invented a game, to correct ourselves when we feel we are making a mistake. Best of all, we are having fun and still learning  in that process. Yes!  As we used to look up the  dictionary before, we check Google today.

Charice has learned so much about her English as I have observed in a year. Her  fans and critics as well need to be patient. She is just in her developing process. Which is very great.  Her English (even her accent)  has  improved and has changed. Sometimes I even think, is she still the same little girl from the Philippines? A year ago, she sounded so different. Yes she´s the same girl.  And she´s getting better and better from day to day.

 

7 Kommentare (+deinen hinzufügen?)

  1. Bing
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 04:33:28

    I have read comments about Charice’s English, but the sad and funny thing is, those who are trying so hard to find some „hole“ in her English are very poor in grammar and sentence construction. Geez! *eyes rolling*

    Antwort

  2. ella
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 09:43:27

    well said schoen. (clap 2x) …:P

    Antwort

  3. 450D
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 10:00:48

    GOOD ONE! thanks mate! WE LOVE YOU CHARICE! YOU INSPIRE MILLIONS OF PEOPLE AROUND THE WORLD, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    Antwort

  4. Joy
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 11:11:37

    wew.. i love Charice the way she speak… she’s good.. 😀

    crocs…. (cool)…hehehe

    Antwort

  5. miNUTe (aka archiemr4)
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 12:14:05

    … wahh .. during my schooldays .. English is one of the weakest link among my subjects .. … I had to ask my older bro’s help to make my essays haha … anyway I am still doing fine with the English that i have learned (i believe until now I still suck) ….

    For Charice … English is a tool you will need to express how you feel with your Global audience .. it is important and there’s much to learn … but whatever language you use .. you always speak your heart mind effortlessly.. that is one of the many reasons I (or we) admire you…

    Schoen .. thanks for sharing this insight of yours … I am still not sure if my grammar is proper or correct … hahaha … but I don’t mind .. keep on blogging

    Antwort

  6. JaYrox
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 12:25:14

    Thanks Schoen.

    I, too, do believe that Charice has come a long way and has indeed improved tremendously in just a span of a year.

    Just like Charice, I came here to America at a very young age, I was 13 years old to be exact. And although I think that the education that I got from the grade school where I graduated from (St. Paul Pque.) was really helpful in terms of being able to make me converse fluently in English, I would admit that there were just those nuances evident that made my English different from the people living here. Definitely, it’s cultural based, but just the same, it does get better in time. And for somebody like me who has english as a second language, the learning never stops. Even up to now, I still catch myself constructing sentences in my mind before I actually utter them. The learning is a continuous process. I think it’s a life-long process.

    I believe Charice is going through the same thing. We just have to give her the chance to go through the motion of learning. As you said, in just short span of time, we have noticed that her english has already gotten better and will still get even better as she learns to adapt more in her new environment.

    And so I pray to those detractors of Charice regarding this subject matter, let’s please give the kid some slack. We know she is doing her best.

    :))

    Antwort

  7. miyi
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 17:08:46

    Schoen, you’ve articulated so well what I wish to say about this topic..

    I’ve lived in the United States for 20 years now, and it’s natural to assume I ought to be prefect with English by now……but that is far from it.

    My grammar sucks. My Filipino accent is still noticeable.

    For Charice to have learned English just recently, and improving at such an astonishing rate, I always write this in my youtube comments:

    it wouldn’t surprise me if she’s better than me with English by next week!

    Antwort

Kommentar verfassen

